Gimlet is a weird word, isn’t it?

To me the word “gimlet” doesn’t really sound that appetizing. It honestly just reminds me of “Gimli” from Lord of the Rings…

I also thought that gimlets were supposed to have gin in them simply based on the name but this recipe I found in a magazine uses vodka which I’m more likely to have on hand as a 20-something girl who can’t decide between a chocolate stout or a vodka soda.

After a refreshing and actually “long” (seeming) weekend this was a perfect drink to make to wrap up my Sunday afternoon. Using a fresh cucumber I bought from the farmer’s market this morning and my own home grown basil this drink hit the spot in my apartment making it seem like I do indeed have more than one AC unit. Enjoy!

 

RECIPE (found in Rachel Ray’s magazine from I’m not sure when…)

INGREDIENTS (adapt the amount of liquid to how strong you like your cocktails)

  • 3 slices fresh cucumber
  • 2 shots vodka
  • 1 shot lime juice
  • 4 shots lemonade
  • Handful of ice cubes
  • Fresh basil for garnish

In a cocktail shaker (I used a mason jar as I’m not quite bougie enough yet to own a shaker) muddle two of the cucumber slices with the lime juice to release the cucumber flavor.

Add the vodka, lemonade, and ice. Shake well. You can strain the liquid into a cocktail glass or keep everything in the mason jar for a more home-style look. Garnish with another cucumber slice and basil leaf and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

